top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTerri W. White

Frisbee Free For All!

If I could accurately throw a Frisbee, somehow I'm sure my life would be more complete. Alas, I cannot. But it doesn't stop me from trying. I bang away at the sport of disc whipping every summer and inch (OK, millimeter) my way toward some greater skill. Today, in history, Wham-O began churning out the flying Frisbee, my arch nemesis, in 1957, when my students' parents were mere figments of their grandparents' imaginations!


Luckily, my students have had much stronger forward momentum in learning new skills this past quarter, and as we wrap up the semester, I must say goodbye to some of my upperclassmen. The Rhetoric class grappled with grammar these last few weeks (and they all LOVE me for it!) and the Lyric class researched some record-making, chart-topping songwriters (Stevie Nicks was playing gigs at age 5, who knew?).


Freshmen turned in their creative sci-fi stories after we dipped our toes in the dystopian worldview of Ray Bradbury. For our new unit of study, we'll be building better research skills, especially necessary in these days of dangerous digital disinformation! We'll be reading about a young Malcolm X, whose life was shaped by his parents' interest in Marcus Garvey and other external forces.


I've talked with rising sophomores and seniors about their English classes for next year, the choices, the possible avenues toward graduation, requirements and electives. It can be an exciting time during these bleak mid-winter days. I'll be teaching Creative Writing and the Art of Storytelling for the spring along with the Freshmen English classes. Fresh minds are flowing my way, for which I have much to be thankful.


Reach out with any questions. I'm only a click away! Our students continue to surprise me with all the heavy lifting they do during these, the spell of pandemic days, that seem to wash us with weariness and hope, all at the same time. Know this: they are learning--academics, yes--but also empathy and curiosity, compassion and grace. And it is my great honor to facilitate such growth.


15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page