top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTerri W. White

Halloween Happiness

It's a full moon and that's a good omen in the world of writing! Here's hoping my students are finding some writing mojo this weekend as they finish a few assignments. Some freshmen are finishing their final annotations for the final bits of their Independent Reading Book (period 1, I'm lookin' at you). Other freshmen are prepping for their first high school theme paper (oh joy, oh rapture!) and will tell me next week why I should read their Independent Reading Book next (or not) for my personal reading. And, yes, English teachers may say they never have time for personal reading during the school year, but it's like a sugar addict trying to steer clear of candy...and Halloween to candy is what 75 ninth graders' book suggestions are to English teachers. Did that make sense? I hope so. Basically, I can't deny a good book.


And juniors in Rhetoric class are starting to explore the wonderful world of Logical Fallacies. We've discussed ad hominem, false authority, and guilt by association. This year has proved very fruitful for finding examples aplenty...and appropriately enough for the end of October, Straw Man is coming and False Dilemma, too. Oh, there's too many to really do justice before we head back into conversations about Post-Truth and Online Civil Reasoning.


Seniors have just begun their Unit 2 final project. They're comparing Free Verse poetry to Modern Art and weighing in on the new-ish question: "Is Free Verse killing poetry?" I'm excited to read their takes. They've explored the world of the sonnet and have something with which to compare it. Next up....what they've all been waiting for...songwriting!


Stay safe and warm and snug as we head into the chillier month of November. My pellet stove is heating up the house nicely and with a mug of coffee, I'm good to go. Thanks for stopping by.


40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page